Little Rock School District Certified Personnel Policy Committee Meeting Minutes September 11, 2022 at 5:30 p.m. Zoom

Called to Order at 5:30 p.m. by Chair LaKeitha Austin

Present: Michele Walls (Bale); Shelly Stacker (Brady); LaToya Davis-Stewart (Carver); Kimberly Crutchfield (Central); Sarah Burbank (Chicot); LaKeitha Austin (Cloverdale); Ken Milton (Dunbar); Emily Vaughn (Forest Heights); Erin Duck (Forest Park); Rhonda Smith (Fulbright); Tracy Barbarotto (Gibbs); Edith Ewings (Hall); Philita James (J.A. Fair); Liz Morris (Jefferson); Etoyi Jones (Mabelvale Elem); Antonette Henderson (Mann); Evelyn Woods (Metropolitan CTE); Paula Lee (Otter Creek); Jason Bailey (Parkview); Katie LaBerge (PHE); Tonia Weems (PHMS); Lisa Hatfield (PVMS); Casey Smith (Rockefeller); Cathy Koehler (Southwest); Tyrone Davis (Stephens); Vickie Short (Wakefield); Betty Larry (Washington); Erica Curruth (Watson); Megan Prettyman (West); Robert Robinson (Administration); Nancy Rousseau (Administration)

Absent with Notification: Teresa Knapp Gordon (Terry)

Schools Lacking Representation: ACC; Baseline Elementary; Fair Park ECC; Geyer Springs ECC; JDC/PCDE; King Elementary; Mabelvale MS; McDermott Elementary; Roberts Elementary; Western Hills Elementary; Williams Elementary

Nominations for Chair and Secretary for 2022-23 Elected LaKeitha Austin (Cloverdale MS) – Chair Cathy Koehler (Southwest HS) – Secretary

Installation of New PPC Representatives by Chair Austin

Motion to Set the Agenda with Flexibility Moved – S. Burbank

Seconded – E. Vaughn Vote *For*: 29 (Unanimous) **Motion Carried**

Approval of August 8 and 31, 2022	
Moved Aug. 8 – Weems	Seconded – James
Moved Aug. 31 – Burbank	Seconded – Vaughn
	Vote For: 29 (Unanimous)
	Motion Carried

COVID Leave Proposal from August 17, 2022 is being submitted to the Superintendent and School Board by Chair Austin.

Retroactive Pay for Year 2 for all employees will be paid on June 30, 2023 check.

Collaborative Culture Committee (CCC) Formation – Certified PPC Representatives need to conduct the site elections following the policy. Chair Austin is going to contact Metro to see if they can build the boxes for concerns. Using a Google form to submit concerns is acceptable.

Sick Leave Committee – Need three PPC members – one from each level (Elementary, Middle School, High School) Chair Austin will send out a request to ask for volunteers to serve.

Retention Incentive Proposal - The Classified PPC submitted their own proposal. Dr. Wright asked the Certified PPC to submit a proposal.

Motion to Rescind the August 31, 2023 Certified PPC Retention Incentive Proposal that was adopted.

Moved by Crutchfield

Seconded by T. Davis Vote *For*: 31 (Unanimous) **Motion Carried**

Motion that the Retention Incentive be paid to LRSD Certified Staff in two \$2500 checksbefore November 30, 2022 and April 30, 2023. *Arkansas Department of EducationSecretary of Education Memo authorizing a payment of \$5000 is attached.Moved by CrutchfieldSeconded by Bailey

Vote *For*: 31 (Unanimous) **Motion Carried**

September Concerns: Chair Austin shared the concerns and invited Elementary Executive Director Smith and Curriculum & Instruction Director Loring to join the meeting to address them with the body or respond by email. She did receive a response.

Certified PPC requested that Chair Austin complete a list of the concerns and send them to Superintendent Wright and the School Board requesting help in addressing them. Further, the Certified PPC requested that Chair Austin make the Superintendent and School Board aware of the issues that return frequently because there is no resolution and ask for closure on the issues.

Motion that Chair Lakeitha Austin summarize actions taken tonight and our discussionand share that information with the School Board President and Superintendent.Moved by Teresa Knapp GordonSecond by Megan Prettyman

Second by Megan Prettyman Vote For: 25 (Unanimous) Motion Carried

Next Meeting: Monday, October 10, 2022 at 5:30 p.m. (Zoom)

Motion to Adjourn: Prettyman

Adjournment: 7:28 p.m.